Skip to content

Meet the Playhouse: Sally and Alexandra

by on May 25, 2016

Meet

At the Fredericton Playhouse, we’re proud to have a dedicated team working behind the scenes to bring you incredible live performance experiences. Over the past few weeks, we’ve introduced you to some of the staff members who help make the magic happen. This week, we’re wrapping up our series with Patron Services Manager Sally Goodwin and Communications Director Alexandra Davis!

Name: Sally Goodwin

Job title: Patron Services Manager

How long have you worked at the Playhouse? Six years

Describe your day-to-day job: Scheduling volunteers, front of house and bar staff, managing any food and beverage requirements, booking tours, attending meetings, and let’s not forget the social committee!

Describe your background: I am a graduate of the National Theatre School of Canada.  Prior to working at the Playhouse, I spent 10 years as a stage manager working in both regional and touring theatre.

What’s something you like to do outside of work? I enjoy playing tennis and starting home improvement projects that I will never finish.

What’s your favourite thing about Fredericton? My favourite thing about Fredericton is the view of the South Side in the fall when coming across the Princess Margaret Bridge.  Stunning.

What’s your favourite Playhouse memory? My favourite Playhouse memory would be the second summer we had the Bricklin here and some of us took turns taking the car out to different events/driving around for no reason. It was pretty nifty.


Name: Alexandra Davis

Job title: Communications Director

How long have you worked at the Playhouse? Two-and-a-half years

Describe your day-to-day job: I create and manage the Playhouse’s various communications, including social media updates, blog posts, press releases, e-news, e-blasts, season guides, show programs and a portion of our website. I coordinate advertising for Playhouse programs and performances, which includes everything from booking print and radio ads, to working with a graphic designer to create posters, rack cards and other materials. I also work with other staff members to develop marketing tactics to highlight specific performances and other Playhouse activities.

Describe your background: I have a Bachelor of Arts from UNB and a Bachelor of Journalism from the University of King’s College in Halifax. Prior to working at the Playhouse, I was the editor of Here Magazine.

What’s something you like to do outside of work? I watch a lot of television, and try to read a lot of books to balance things out.

What’s your favourite thing about Fredericton? I love the small, vibrant downtown area here in Fredericton.

What’s your favourite Playhouse memory? I’ve seen so many amazing artists on the Playhouse stage, but I have to say that Darlene Love’s performance just last year was a highlight for me. I first learned about her when I saw the documentary 20 Feet from Stardom a few years ago – she has such a spectacular voice and stage presence, and her life story is fascinating.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

