Skip to content

Meet the Playhouse: Judy and Wendy

by on May 18, 2016

Meet

At the Fredericton Playhouse, we’re proud to have a dedicated team working behind the scenes to bring you incredible live performance experiences. Over the next few weeks, we’re going to introduce you to some of the staff members who help make the magic happen! This week, we have Head Technician Judy Joe and Ticketing & Administration Manager Wendy Caron.

Name: Judy Joe

Job title:  Head Technician

How long have you worked at the Playhouse?  Six-and-a-half years

Describe your day-to-day job: On show days, I supervise and work with the Playhouse crew and the tour manager or artist to make sure the show runs smoothly. Show days are usually easy for me because we have a talented professional crew here who can do almost anything. Making sure a show runs well also means making sure that the Playhouse is running properly…that can mean anything from fixing a stopped up toilet to changing a lobby light to dealing with the boiler to make sure we have heat. Every show day is different!

On office days, I “advance” the upcoming shows – to advance a show means figuring out the technical requirements for a show by connecting with the tour manager or artist. For some shows, it can be challenging. The technical needs may be more complex or we may not have the resources to do what the show requires and have to figure out what we can do instead. Tight schedules or large crew requirements are other challenges that need to be worked out. Fortunately, for most shows, the advancing process is straight forward and easy.

Describe your background: I started in high school working backstage on school and community theatre productions. I loved it! So, I went on to specialize in stage management in the Dalhousie University Theatre Program. After graduating, I apprenticed at Neptune Theatre and spent the next 10 years stage managing in the Maritimes. In 2004, I became the Production Manager at Theatre New Brunswick. After two seasons with TNB,  I moved over to the Harvest Jazz and Blues Festival where I worked as an Operations Manager and then as Production Manager before taking on the Head Technician position at the Playhouse.

What’s something you like to do outside of work?  Being a Big Sister with Big Brothers/Big Sisters.

What’s your favourite thing about Fredericton? The feeling of community – through work, I’ve had the opportunity to get to know many talented and passionate volunteers, who are dedicated to making Fredericton a better place. These folks are awesome!

What’s your favourite Playhouse memory? Mel Tillis was one of my first shows as Head Technician. He was a real gentleman; before sound check, he introduced himself and shook my hand. I said my name and he asked, “Is that J-j-j-judy with an i or a y-y-y?”  I said with a y. He smiled and sang without a stutter, “Judy.” And I definitely heard the “y.”


Name: Wendy Caron

Job title: Ticketing & Administration Manager

How long have you worked at the Playhouse? Eighteen-and-a-half years

Describe your day-to-day job: Setting up performances in the ticketing system;  managing a team of ticketing staff; pulling reports; collecting data for e-mails/stats etc.; updating parts of the website.

What’s something you like to do outside of work? I like going for walks with my Greyhound and reading.

What’s your favourite thing about Fredericton? The walking trails.

What’s your favourite Playhouse memory? Not too long after I started working here, Mr. Dressup was booked in for a performance. The morning of his show I was working in the box office and he came in the front door and came over and talked to me for 10 to 15 minutes. I was just as excited to be talking to him then as I would have been if I were six.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

