Skip to content

Meet the Playhouse: Melissa and Tim

by on May 11, 2016

Meet

At the Fredericton Playhouse, we’re proud to have a dedicated team working behind the scenes to bring you incredible live performance experiences. Over the next few weeks, we’re going to introduce you to some of the staff members who help make the magic happen! This week, we have Ticketing Supervisor Melissa Cameron, and Executive Director Tim Yerxa.

Name: Melissa Cameron

Job title: Ticketing Supervisor

How long have you worked at the Playhouse? Over 10 years.

Describe your day-to-day job: Greeting our patrons and assisting them with all of their ticketing inquiries, and working with a great box office team.

Describe your background: I graduated from UNB with a double major in Psychology and Sociology.

I’ve always worked in the customer service industry in some fashion. My first job was with Empire Theatres and I was with them for a long time. I held quite a few different positions there and gained a lot of customer service experience as well as supervisory experience.

What’s something you like to do outside of work? I love spending time outside with my family and friends. I enjoy walking, kayaking, swimming,  biking, hiking or hunting for waterfalls.

What’s your favourite thing about Fredericton? We have an excellent art scene in Fredericton, whether you enjoy music, theatre, or gallery openings.  If I wanted to, I could attend a new exhibit opening almost every two weeks.

What’s your favourite Playhouse memory? My husband and I attended a Taiko drumming show quite a few years ago and we still talk about it. It was full of energy and very impressive. I’m also a big dance fan and have seen many beautiful performances over the years. I don’t think I could pick a favorite dance show, there were too many great ones!


Name: Tim Yerxa

Job title: Executive Director

How long have you worked at the Playhouse? Fifteen years

Describe your day-to-day job: As the Executive Director, I am responsible for implementing the strategic plan and policies set by the board of directors. I lead our professional and dedicated team, helping them to set and achieve their goals, ultimately contributing to our mission to deliver enriching live performance experiences for the community. I am also the public spokesperson for the organization and work to promote our programs and services widely in the community. I work with our board and professional staff to bring resources to our organization through contributions from individuals and public and private sector organizations.

Describe your background: I like to say that I came to the Playhouse through the front door, not the stage door. I have no formal training in the arts whatsoever. This has given me a very “audience-centric” approach to my work at the Playhouse. My previous work experience has been in non-profit management in community development and leadership development organizations, although I also did a short stint as a private concert and event promoter when I was a crazy 20-something.

What’s something you like to do outside of work? I love gourmet food. I like eating, but what I really love most is preparing big fancy dinners for guests in our home. I like to express myself this way and show others how much I care about them by preparing food for them.

What’s your favourite thing about Fredericton? It’s like living in a garden. No smoke stacks. Just interesting people with interesting ideas and a love for their community. Oh, and the craft beer scene. There’s probably a new brewery opening tomorrow.

What’s your favourite Playhouse memory? One time Bruce Cockburn was giving a concert and after the show, the chairman of the Beaverbrook Art Gallery (who was at the concert) invited us over to the gallery to see an Alex Colville exhibition. Bruce has a special connection with Colville as one of his works was featured as the cover art on an album of his. Security opened the gallery just for us and the three of us spent the rest of the evening talking and discussing Colville’s paintings. Bruce has a great insight into the artist’s work and we had a wonderful time roaming around the gallery on our private tour.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

