Skip to content

Joey Knight releasing new CD

by on May 19, 2010

(reposted from http://dailygleaner.canadaeast.com)

By LAVERNE STEWART
stewart.laverne@dailygleaner.com

Joey Knight has faith that he’s doing exactly what he’s meant to do with his musical career.

He was a teen when he was the frontman for a four-piece band and performed locally.

In 1984 he went to Nashville where he recorded an album. Many tracks were national top 10 hits and the album also received international airplay.

Two years later he recorded three new singles, which were also popular. He performed on several TV programs, including The Tommy Hunter Show, he appeared at the Canadian Country Music Awards show as well as radio talk shows.

Knight opened for many U.S. performers, including Mickey Gilley, Gene Watson, Tanya Tucker, John Conley and others. He also toured extensively at major concerts and festivals across Canada and the U.S.

At the 1988-’89 CCMAs, he was nominated for various awards, including the Vista Rising Star Award. In 1993, Joey Knight was honoured by being inducted into the New Brunswick Country Music Hall of Fame for his contribution as one of this province’s most popular performing artists.

Knight has a very tight bond with his wife and children, who supported him in his music career, touring with him a lot.

But constant travelling was a tough life.

“That kind of got to me a bit. It wears you out, touring through Canada and many parts of the United States. I got to a good level and I could have kept going. Maybe I should have moved to Nashville.”

He had the chance to move there 25 years ago but he says because there was no guarantee he was going to make it, he didn’t want to uproot his family from home and then hit the road for eight to 10 months while touring.

“I didn’t want to do that at the time because I didn’t feel right about it. I just couldn’t leave my family that long.”

Knight continued to perform but stayed closer to home. In 1993 he became an insurance broker while he continued to perform on a scaled-back schedule.

Several years ago he heard some gospel music while he was at Sunset Church that really touched him.

“I said, ‘I can do this gospel music and I can do it country-style.'”

Since then he has performed country gospel shows and has recorded a country gospel CD, Believe, which he plans to release at The Playhouse on May 29 during his concert.

“I started the project at the end of January. I just completed it about two weeks ago.”

He plans to tour throughout the region and wants to bring his shows to some of the biggest venues throughout the province.

Vince Gill has always been one of his favourite performers and, he says, he will perform some of Gill’s songs, such as Go Rest High On That Mountain, that fit into this gospel show.

Knight’s wife Carolyn, daughter and son-in-law, Stacey and Jamie, son and daughter-in-law, Jason and Catherine and little granddaughter Chloe, have helped keep him focused, positive and determined to succeed, he says. The entire family is involved in his music career.

“I am really happy that my family is working with me. That is very important to me in my career. Right now life is very busy for me, trying to find a balance. I have always had my family. I have the insurance business and the music.

“I am just going to keep doing what I am doing because everything is working out for me and I thank the good Lord for that.”

If you decide to come to Knight’s show, he says you will be entertained by him as well as a number of other singers and musicians.

This is a family show that is suitable to all ages, he says. He’ll be singing songs such as Thank You Lord, For Your Blessings On Me; How Great Thou Art; I’ll Be Alright (As Soon As I Touch Calvary); All I Need Is Jesus, and more.

“I do some of the newer gospel tunes and some of the classics, but I do them in Joey Knight-style.”

The music business has many ups and downs, he says, but being on stage and performing for people who love music continues to be a thrill for him.

“That is a rush like you can’t believe. I can’t wait to perform for people at The Playhouse. That day you could be talking to me and I don’t know how I would answer you because I will be so focused on that show that night. That’s the way I am no matter where I play, because I love to entertain and sing for people.”

He isn’t sure what the future will bring and he is leaving that up to God to decide what he is supposed to do with his music and where he is supposed to do it.

What does he think would have happened had he moved his family to Nashville and continued along that musical path?

“It’s hard to say, but there was just a part of me that was telling me not to do that. I was going to sign a major contract but something just told me not to sign.”

Knight says looking back, he believes God had other things in mind for his life and was trying to talk to him for a long time.

“Sometimes I haven’t been listening but I have always believed. He has brought me to country gospel entertainers, who are such great people to be around.

“We hope everybody comes to the show and we are going to give them a great performance that evening.”

Fast facts

What: The Joey Knight Country Gospel Show

When: Saturday, May 29 at 7:30 p.m.

Where: The Playhouse

Information: For more information contact the box office by email at: boxoffice@theplayhouse.ca or by phone: 458-8344 or 1-866-884-5800.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

